Tate Britain, David Bomberg

Bombergs prodigious colours, striking shapes, shadows and collaboration of clutter struck me straight away. Although whilst I was viewing the piece I did not view it as figurative, I saw a geometric compositions of new shapes being formed.

I picked up on the collaboration of shapes that had been put together and the linear patterns. Decision making of which shape is going to go where, who’s its companion will be to become two separate forms or fuse as one. I picked up on a space of the piece that struck/stood out to me the most.

Bomberg copy

A lot of my research is resulting in geometric works whereas there is no mathematics of geometry in my work. Probably too late now as the deadline is creeping up within two weeks time. Bomberg turned humans into simple, angular, cut forms with enormous amounts of energy and dynamics. He was very retrogressive towards Modernism,causing him to lose his place as a student at the Slade school of art.

Bomberg’s determination to bring about a drastic renewal to British painting was accounted for before and during his time in the trenches. Although his post war work was a turning point, for what i see as the worst, as his work transformed into Scottish and British landscape. Nothing to do with Vorticism or Cubism anymore.

“I look upon nature while I live in a steel city.”

“I appeal to a sense of form. My object is the construction of pure form.”

IMG_0510     IMG_0511

Leave a Reply

