P/N Project Intentions

Seeing as I’ve left this project that should’ve been started when I first got here until 3 weeks before it’s deadline, I don’t want to fall under the rules of cliche, unoriginal ideas of what positive negative is. Themes such as, black and white, negative space, night and day, etc. Undoubtedly I know I’ll be a hypocrite and still cover those themes somewhere within my project, I am finding myself stuck in the heat of inside out/outside in. Looking at the bodies exhibition, now leading me to the human species and how we are being treated similarly to other creatures we eat.

 

body-parts-relax-theyre-made-of-bread-by-kittiwat-unarrom

 

Kittiwat Unarrom, what appears to be severed human body parts covered in blood is actually loafs of bread in grotesque form. Each hand painted.

“My family is in the bakery business and I learned to bake when I was about 10,” Kittiwat said. “I want to speak out about my religious beliefs and dough can say it all. Baking human parts can show the audience how transient bread, and life, is. Also, my bread is still bread no matter how it looks.”

“When people see the bread, they don’t want to eat it. But when they taste it, it’s just normal bread. The lesson is ‘don’t judge just by outer appearances.”

IMG_0477

 

As you’ll see in my sketchbook I covered a small fraction of Dr Gunther Van Hagen’s work. I studied and watched a lot of his material during my time in Biology A level. As well as viewing ‘Pulse’ exhibition whilst I was in New York. This opportunity opened a whole new world to me. The intensity of the interior made the exterior unimportant. It reminded me of the beauty of the human species as a creation. Yet how oblivious we are to our living processes. Applying Gunther Van Hagen’s work to my project is very unusual I admit yet the interior/exterior (opposites) fulfilled my intentions.

Leave a Reply

