Plaster Experimentation

After buying foam balls from pound land to start slip casting balls for my new route of ‘Atomic Balls’ (Kate Malone influence). I probably took more of a liking to the netting packaging it was sold in. I became very curious of what it would become if I poured plaster inside to cast the shape of a phallic shape with the surface of netting. During the process I was worried the plaster would engulf the netting and it would just be a bit of plaster.

IMG_1021

Instead the result was quite successful. I wasn’t expecting anything useful to come out of it. (Although I’m not sure where the projects theme of P/N comes into it.)

IMG_1022 IMG_1035

The more I look at this piece the more I fall in love with it. The layering of smooth plaster, edged and lumpy erosions and layering of netting between the two contrasting surfaces is more than I could ever have ask for. I love the natural creation of this piece. I didn’t intend for any of these results and having less hope with a piece is probably even more encouraging as it comes out in a way you would’ve never imagined.

IMG_1059 IMG_1058 IMG_1057 IMG_1055 IMG_1053 IMG_1052

I burnt away the netting and “attempted” to create another cast of this shape but with such little practice and experience in the plaster room there were an insane amount of overhangs, undercuts and the biggest let down was that I forgot to soft soap the plaster piece. Therefore the piece got stuck in the plaster and had to be hammered and split out of the mould. I now know for next time I want to cast a very complicated object I will need an extra pair of eyes on me to make sure I’m going down the right track to success rather than making stupid silly mistakes along the way. I then left this piece to one side as it was time consuming for something that didn’t have much relation to my project. Maybe something I’ll consider to carry on with on a later date.

Leave a Reply

