Made London

IMG_2769 I had been to Made London 2013 as well as 2014. I felt both years were very similar to each other apart from this front stall by the entrance of ceramic english nature. The detail and matt glazes seem to work perfectly and are incredibly realistic, capturing the realism of our wildlife.

IMG_2785 IMG_2768

Jin Eui Kim, Cardiff Met Graduate

IMG_2765 IMG_2766

IMG_2761 The ceramist of ‘Dove Street Pottery’ work with domestic grey glazes. Whilst I spoke to him about the recipes and ingrediants, he explained the thinner the glaze application the darker the surface and the thicker the glaze the greener it is due to the Bunsenite, the green crystals inside the Nickel Oxide. He didn’t tell me his base glaze for obvious reasons but mentioned the add ons he has such as cobalt oxide, nickel oxide and blue stain. I experimented with this but the colour cam out very blue which was not intended. You can see this in the glaze post.

 

IMG_2764IMG_2762

 

IMG_2757I love the fragility of these pieces, it inspired me to use porcelain more thoughout my project but due to obvious reasons porcelain is very expensive to finance.

IMG_3019 IMG_3017

Sue Binns, these two pieces are my purchases from the fair. I absolutely love Sue’s work especially from working with her. I only use these pieces on special occasions now. They are so lovely to have and use.

Leave a Reply

